Dyslexics and Right-brained People Might be Interested in What Jill Bolte Taylor Says about the Right Brain

I was recently sent this incredible video on TED (Technology, Entertainment, Design), a website devoted to bringing new ideas from the world’s top thinkers and doers.  The video features brain researcher Jill Bolte Taylor and her experience with a severe stroke due to a blood clot in her left hemisphere which shut her left side down.  This resulted in her experiencing the right hemisphere on its own and it changed her life.

It is an uplifting, spiritual, eye-opening and educational view on the true purpose of our extraordinary right brain.  I highly recommend you watch this video and then check out her website.  And since I am a normal right-brained individual that always has to give way more information than necessary I am providing you with several links to  her.

I would love to hear feedback about what you think of her and her ideas!

1.  The video on TED:

http://www.ted.com/index.php/talks/jill_bolte_taylor_s_powerful_stroke_of_insight.html

2.  Her Bio on TED: http://www.ted.com/index.php/speakers/jill_bolte_taylor.html

3.  Jane Bolte Taylor’s website: http://www.drjilltaylor.com/

4.  Her Bio on Oprah.com and her chat with Oprah.  Very Interesting!

http://www.oprah.com/article/spirit/inspiration/pkgoprahssoulserieswebcast/20080512_oaf_oss_jboltetaylor

Thanks for your time.

Karen L Hope

3 thoughts on “Dyslexics and Right-brained People Might be Interested in What Jill Bolte Taylor Says about the Right Brain

  1. I just stumbled onto her story when she was on Oprah the other day. It was life-changing because I realized when she was describing a right-brained person she was describing my 5 year old to a T. I realized that I have been trying to make her something she isn’t and can’t be without wriggling around in her own skin. My daughter is also left-handed, which further cements my certainty of her right-brain dominance. Since the other day I have been all over the internet and feel everything that never made sense to me about my child (is she ADD? Dyslexic? Oppositional?) is now falling into place. Poor kid, it’s taken her left-brained mother 5 years to figure out what now seems so obvious.

    Because of what she said I realize there is so much to be embraced about all the right brain has to offer. The ripple effect of all this is that I suspect she is also a visual learner and we will make adjustments accordingly at home and hopefully at school. There’s a lot more harmony in our home now that I have this understanding of her. It really was life-changing.

    • Thanks for your story Traci, part of our mission is to educate all the rest of left brainers of the world that right brained learning traits are just as powerful as those of the majority of the world. As you can probably tell, I am not dyslexic either but through daily contact with the 2 co-founders of our website I think I am starting to get it. We don’t see “Dyslexia” as a disability or dysfunction but rather a different way of learning that can be made into a very powerful tool. I am so glad you see this too, your daughter is very lucky to have you helping her. If there is anything we can help you with please just let us know. Is there any particular topic that you would like us to cover in our blog or newsletter or weekly chat?

What do you think?

