Dyslexia Then and Now

I just read Karey’s recent blog titled “Rant of a Parent Supporting a Dyslexic Child” and I just wonder when things are going to change. I mentioned it before that acceptance of Dyslexia in schools hasn’t really been at the forefront of school administrators.  I think it is worth repeating a couple of facts at this point.

The fear and confusion and desperation that Karey felt while trying to get help for her daughter was a very powerful and overpowering event in her life. For people not familiar with Karey’s story you should realize that this fight for her daughter’s right to get appropriate support in school was about 25 years ago. It also occurred in Northern California.

The reason I mention these facts is that we witness the same anguish in parents today, here in Western Canada. At one time I actually believed that the overall schooling in Canada was pretty good. Maybe for the average children it is, just like it might be good enough for the majority of kids in all of North America. What I truly don’t understand though is how the school systems in both countries have so consistently diminished the issues surrounding Dyslexia for so long. In both countries you can find school administrators spouting all kinds of “feel good” statements about “no child left behind” or some other version of this ideal. The problem is the more they say these things it seems the less is actually being done.

Now, Karey and I specialize in helping children and adults with Dyslexic learning issues and we are not familiar with other Learning Disabilities and the schools’ position on them but I suspect they are no better. I invite other professionals to let us know what is being done in the schools for children with issues other than Dyslexia. I would like to know if any progress is being made pertaining to Learning Disabilities at all in North America.

We don’t know how to get superintendants,  principals, school boards or school districts to change their perspectives so Karey and I will continue to help families one at a time. If anybody out there has come up with some magic formula for making vast changes that will quickly help children and adults please let us know.

I hope this was of value to you and we wish you good luck on your journey to further enlightenment about all things Dyslexic.

Howie deGraaf
Editor and Co-founder of Dyslexia Victoria Online

3 thoughts on “Dyslexia Then and Now

  1. I have a son who has dyslexia. I finally pulled him out of public school to homeschool him. I was so tired of the IEP meetings and testing along with the lack of follow through. There was no specific or systematic approach that they followed when they pulled him out for group work. Randomness doesn’t work for these types of learners. I don’t know what it is going to take. All I know is that my son needed one on one help which he would never receive in school.
    P.S. I am so glad I found your blog.

  2. Pingback: Dealing with Dylexia Then and Now | Learning Link Technologies

What do you think?

